Suzuki LT-R450 Forum :: LTR450HQ.com banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, i'm new with atv's and recently purchased a 2006 suzuki ltr 450.
My question is, it has 10 inch wheels on the back, 20/11/10.
Sprockets are stock though, 14 front, 38 back.
For your information, I jump a little bit, nothing too extreme, I ride some track and a lot of cross country.
So should i maybe change to 9" rims and 19" rear tires, or should I change the front sprocket?
Tell me exactly waht the difference would be if I put on a 13t sprocket and kept on riding the 20" tires??

Thanks, I appreciate answers and help!!
:rock:

·
Registered
256 Posts
If u run alot of xc then just drop to a 13t front sprocket cause u will wanna stay with those 20" tires.

·
Registered
87 Posts
14-36 is stock on most, my 08 came 14-37 from the factory. I race strictly XC and alot of it. Went to 22" fronts, 20" rears for the clearance factor, you'll need it. And dropped a tooth in front to 13 to compensate for the taller tires. I rarely see anything past 4th gear and only one course of 14 that we use 5th gear.

i think you are right in there with a 13-38 combo. Remember, 1 tooth in the front is close to the equivalent of 3 teeth in the rear.

Good Luck !

·
Registered
1,798 Posts
Like Kidd said with the 20s. I run 21s on the rear with either a 13/36 or a 14/36 depending on the course. I've tried a 13/37 but was way too low a gearing for me. The last race I ran the 14/36 with no problems with using 1st through 5th gears. Top speed I think was around 70ish. Oh and with 20s you'll want to run a 9 inch wheel, more sidewall and cushon.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks guys!! appreciate the help!

So if youre saying i'm already up by 2 teeth in the rear sprocket does that mean that i gave up some torque and have more top speed now?!

Could someone explain to me aswell what the difference would be, on 20" tires ofcourse, 13t f 38t r,, or 13t f 39 or 40 r?!

·