Suzuki LT-R450 Forum :: LTR450HQ.com banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to the whole fi quad thing. I just bought an 07 lr450 that supposedly just needed the valves adjusted. Barely started. Got it home and won't start. Took tank and everything off. Pulled valve cover off and checked the clearances and they are good and the cams are set correctly. Pulled plug out and cranked and it's got a blue spark while cranking so I put it back in. Fuel pump is getting about 12volts to it for around 3 second when u first turn key on but then nothing while cranking. But when I hook the wires up to the pump it doesnt turn on at all. There was a little insulation missing on the ground wire of the pump at the connection so I grounded that to frame and turned key on and pump came on. I checked the throttle position sensor and the numbers were good 1.6 shut and like 5.2 open. When I had throttle body off I turned key and the fuel injector shot a good looking mist for a split second so I assume that is working fine. Put throttle body on and sprayed starter fluid into inlet while cranking and nothing. There is a decent amount of oil in the air box I don't know what that's due to. I cranked it with the valve cover off and sprayed starting fluid in inlet and noticed when I did this it appeared to fog out through kinda by where the timing chain runs. Stop spraying and it stops fogging a few seconds later and when you start spraying it starts fogging out again. Then I hooked tank back up and primed the pump and lines by jumping pump with another battery. And cranked with quarter throttle and I got it to run. It was choppy and wouldn't idle but it was better than nothing. So I put the valve cover on and hooked everything back up and it won't start. At a quarter throttle while cranking it will speed up like its trying to catch but wont. I just got another stock Cdi and plugged it in and it still won't start. It seems to have decent compression. I ha